top of page

We Read Over 3,000 Books! (I Keep Track and it isn't For the Reason You T

I admit it – I have an obsession with children’s books. The bold and whimsical illustrations, the essential life-lessons, the humor, the simple yet heartfelt text, the sheer diversity – I love it all. Although I am by no means an expert, after reading over 3,000 children’s books with my kids, I want to share why I keep track, the benefits I see first-hand and of course, my favorite book.

Dylan is nine and Devon is seven. Both love to swim and run, watch movies, ride scooters, go to the zoo, amusement park, museums, playgrounds and more. But when it comes to reading, they will contentedly sit and read or listen to me read to them. For hours. There is nothing I love more than snuggling up with my boys and reading countless picture or chapter books, whether I read to them or they read to me. They stay up well past bedtime many nights, a book and flashlight in their little hands.

I wanted Dylan to have a love of books and began building a home library before his birth. When he was a baby, I started reading board books and simple picture books, books to learn and books to laugh. I felt it was important to start early, as the brains of babies absorb information like a sponge. I continued after Devon was born and both of my kids have always gravitated toward books. Like me, they enjoy the humor, illustrations and are always on the lookout to learn something new.

When my dad, a retired history teacher at my high school, died in September, 2013, I recalled a simple picture book about the seasons that he used to read to me when I was a little girl. One picture stands out in my memory for Spring where a little dark-haired girl reaches down to pick up a pebble in a puddle of water. I have searched for that book and would give almost anything to have it, to share with my kids and as a remembrance of my dad. Unfortunately, I don’t know the title, author, publisher or any other important details that would lead me to find it. (If you know this book, please contact me!)

I never wanted my children to not be able to find a book that they loved or that held special memories of us reading together. So, I started a Goodreads Account for the simple purpose of having an electronic copy of every book we ever read. I back tracked books we had read years before and kept track of our current and to-read lists. As time went on, I used the other features of the site such as Recommendations, which led me to my favorite book. I never imagined we would reach 3,000 books, and even though my intention was only for my boys, I feel the need to share our journey.

The benefits of reading to kids are endless. Books provide education and brain stimulation without it feeling like work, and without over-stimulation. Books are one of the best alternatives to electronics, yet will compliment video versions of books so a child can see the stories come to life. Children gain autonomy to select their own books and topics which enhance decision making skills. My kids have excellent retention from what they have read in both fiction and non-fiction, and for many books, they remember pictures and text and anticipate when their favorite parts are coming up. Both of my boys are reading above their grade levels, achieve good grades, and pay attention in class. They love participating in reading events and library programs. Dylan and Devon are inquisitive and hunger for new information on all topics from animals to planets to sports to inventions and every fiction book in between. Through countless non-fiction books, they have learned to chase their dreams, follow their hearts and that anything in life is possible with hard work and determination.

Now for the drum roll, please. Memoirs of a Goldfish, written by Devin Scillian and illustrated by Tim Bowers is my ultimate, favorite picture book. The immensely strong themes of having a purpose, helping others, friendship, diversity, sharing, family, love and being a responsible member of society ring true. The message of not realizing or appreciating what you have until it is gone is crystal clear. I have heard President Barack Obama and Oprah Winfrey speak about the importance of having a purpose in life and being a valid member of society. This award-winning book offers these rich themes with easy-to-understand text, laugh-out-loud humor, and amazing illustrations. If you have not read it, regardless of whether or not you have kids, run, don't walk, and get this book. Click here to learn more.

I love sharing book recommendations and work as an advocate for the parenting website Upparent. The site is designed for all parents to get involved and share recommendations on parenting resources, upvote your favorites, share comments, take part in polls and more.

A few of my favorite Upparent children’s book lists to date are inspiring non-fiction stories, kindness and empathy, being a good friend, and manners. The children of today need to grow up knowing these life-long, important skills. The Upparent books lists are here.

Feel free to friend us on Goodreads under the name Dylan & Devon Tandoc. Happy Reading!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page